PDA

Просмотр полной версии : Solving "EBDA too big" problem


DeFraG
12.05.2003, 09:46
Liudi pomogite, ja tut Gentoo sebe ustonavil, vsio puchkom shlo KDE ja skompiliroval, nastroil pocti vsio, reboot zdelal vybiraju v bootloadere Linux , a on pishet "Loading Linux ... ABDE too big" cio takoje ABDE, cio eto znacit i kak lechit.

TFU blin ne ABDE, a EBDA.

Bek
12.05.2003, 12:12
исходный пост: http://www.mandrakeuser.org/mub/viewtopic.php?topic=7737&forum=8

A "healthy" /boot directory should have the following elements (for the following example the 2.4.8-34.1mdk kernel is used):

-initrd-2.4.8-34.1mdk.img
-initrd.img->initrd-2.4.8-34.1mdk.img
-System.map-2.4.8-34.1mdk
-System.map->System.map-2.4.8-34.1mdk
-vmlinuz-2.4.8-34.1mdk
-vmlinuz->vmlinuz-2.4.8-34.1mdk
-config-2.4.8-34.1mdk
-config->config-2.4.8-34.1mdk

When a kernel is upgraded, the symlinks (the files above with the "->" after them) are not always pointing to the correct file. These symlinks are used by lilo to boot the proper kernel during start up. Check your /boot an make sure each symlink is pointing to the correct kernel version. If they are not, use the following commands to reset them. The example uses the 2.4.8-34.1mdk kernel, but you must substitute your kernel version!!

*rm vmlinuz && ln -s vmlinuz-2.4.8-34.1mdk vmlinuz
*rm System.map && ln -s System.map-2.4.8-34.1mdk System.map
*rm config && ln -s config-2.4.8-34.1mdk config

There is a good chance, as was the case with me, that Mandrake Update will not create the initrd-2.4.8-34.1mdk.img file or it's symlink initrd.img when it installs the kernel update. These files are easily created using the following steps from the command prompt:

# cd /boot
# mkinitrd /boot/initrd-2.4.8-34.1mdk.img 2.4.8-34.1mdk
# ln -sf initrd-2.4.8-34.1mdk.img initrd.img

Now type "ls -l" to make sure they were created. OK..so now your /boot should contain all of the elements necessary. The next step is to check your lilo.conf file. This file is read by lilo during the boot process. It tells lilo what files to look for in the boot directory.

At the prompt type "cd /etc" then "vi lilo.conf". This will open your lilo.conf file using the vi text editor. Your lilo.conf should appear like the one below:

boot=/dev/hde
map=/boot/map
install=/boot/boot.b
vga=788
default=linux
keytable=/boot/us.klt
lba32
prompt
timeout=50
disk=/dev/hde bios=0x80
message=/boot/message
menu-scheme=wb:bw:wb:bw

image=/boot/vmlinuz
label=linux
root=/dev/hde1
initrd=/boot/initrd.img
append=" devfs=mount"
read-only

image=/boot/vmlinuz
label=failsafe
root=/dev/hde1
initrd=/boot/initrd.img
append=" devfs=mount failsafe"
read-only

other=/dev/fd0
label=floppy
unsafe

We want to focus on the section just below the menu-scheme tag. My lilo.conf file did not contain the initrd=/boot/initrd.img tag. If yours does not, type "e" to enter vi edit mode, then simply type the tag in. Then hit the esc key. Next hit ":" then "wq" enter.

You now have a repaired lilo.conf. The final step is to reset your boot sector so that it reads the changes we have just made. From the command prompt type "/sbin/lilo -v"

Finished! You should be ready for reboot now. Type "exit" enter then "reboot" enter. Be sure to remove your CD.

Your system should boot properly, aside from a Mandrake disk check (which I recommend selecting Yes for).

If you run into "loading linux...." after this, then your problem is something outside the scope of this doc, however, lucky for you this community is full of people happy to help you with any Mandrake problem.

Thanks and Good luck.

Bek
12.05.2003, 12:14
Еще один вариант:

Have you upgraded the kernel by any chance? This is usually the
scenario that causes this.
Anyway, the easiest way out is to boot from
the install CD, choose expert mode, choose update, choose no packages to
install, then just run through a standard install (very quickly). This
should straighten on the chaos in your /boot and get you running again.
If it was a kernel upgrade that caused it, note for the future that even
though the kernel appears in the security updates list, it should NEVER
be installed that way. Instead, download it and do "rpm -ivh kernel..."
so that it gets installed alongside your existing kernel.